Magical Arts

Types of Magic

The practice of magic falls into two major categories:

  1. Arcane Magic, attributed to chaotic or otherworldly forces
  2. Divine Magic, attributed to one or more gods

Rarer and more limited types of magic include Ceremonial Magic, Hedge Magic, and Spirit Magic. Experts of these forms have community responsibilities or inherent limitations that preclude a life of adventure. (No rules exist for these forms of magic; they’re part of the world background, and available only to NPCs. PCs have access to far more powerful Arcane Magic and Divine Magic.)

Terms used indiscriminately to describe wielders of magic include enchanters/enchantresses, mages, necromancers, seers, sorcerers, witches, and wizards.

Magical Objects

Except for potions and minor tools of magic, Magic Items are very rare. Adventurers find them in old ruins, parents pass them to their children, cults gather around them … but no merchants sell magic items, save in private auctions to a select clientele.

Attitudes Toward Magic

In Erebus, common folk seldom see true magic, and fear it. (Even illusionists and jongleurs, who use sleight of hand, misdirection, and clever apparatus to give the appearance of supernatural powers, can face accusations of sorcery from angry mobs and civil authorities.) Benevolent users of magic must overcome prejudice before common folk will accept their help. A few cultures accept magic more readily, notably shamans among Olgur Nomads, users of Divine Magic among co-religionists, and healers virtually everywhere.